Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm a college student that goes to school out of state, so no one has driven the Xterra in 4 months. I have a 2006 Xterra Manual transmission. When I came back for break, the Xterra will not start or crank so I jump start it using my parent's car. It was able to turn over and I drove it around for 15 - 20 minutes. The next day I tried to start it but no luck. I then tried to jump start it but this time no crank at all. I can see all the indicator lights on the instrumental cluster turn on and seem fine when I jump start, but the Xterra will not crank. My battery terminals are clean and have no corrosion.

Any tips or suggestions? Is it possible my starter has gone bad? :dontknow:

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Not sure if this info helps, but the first time I jump started my Xterra I used my parents Volkswagen Jetta Sportswagen TDI and the Xterra was able to turn over. The 2nd time I jump started I used my dad's Volkswagen EOS and it's brand new so I don't know if my dad's car have enough energy for the Xterra.

·
on line
10,980 Posts
Couple of things that may help (in no particular order):

- Check your battery terminal clamps, they're notorious for coming loose or for losing their ability to clamp tightly enough to the terminals ... even though the terminals may seem fine to look at them (and may even read continuity with a meter), if you can grab the wire and turn the clamp on the terminal it's too loose.

- Have your battery load tested ... four months is a long time to sit unused. Especially if it's the original battery, I suspect it may be "D. - E. - D." dead.