Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
on line
4,434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been contemplating buying a license for my home (3 computers). I am especially interesting in running it on my laptop, as its resources are already pretty stretched running Vista and I can't install any more memory in it (its already got the max in it.)

The one thing I'm most interested in (or rather NOT interested in) is problems with drivers. For example, when I had to replace my wife's PC, all I could get was a Vista box (the dead computer was running Windows 2K and then XP), I had to get a new printer, because they wouldn't supply drivers for a perfectly good five year old HP printer (I blame both HP and MS for that.) I also had problems finding drivers for my flatbed scanner.

So how about it, is it worth it?

·
Registered
3,167 Posts
In short, definitely. I've been using Windows 7 for about 6 months now and I'm very impressed. My PC that I built a couple of years ago is

-Pentium D dual-core 3Ghz
-Asus PL5D2 motherboard
-2GB Kingston RAM
-4 IDE drives
-1 SATA drive
-Radeon X1950Pro vid card

I have mutiboot running Mandriva Linux, Windows XP, Vista Ultimate 32-bit and Windows 7 64-bit.

Win7 definitely gives Vista a run for it's money. Much faster in every way, and I didn't have to search out any special drivers for anything, everything works great including software. I have the same ton of software installed in XP, Vista and 7. Vista is the slowest, XP is faster but 7 is faster that both.