Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
on line
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm not yet an X owner although I've been looking for the right one on a dealer lot for a few months now. But now after reading the boards, I'm a bit confused as to which one to get...

I live in Chicago right now but expect to be moving to Denver next spring/summer.

So, for Chicago, I was planning on an SE 4x4 with the airbags and the trailer hitch. Since there is NO off roading to speak of here, all the cool add on stuff didn't seem worth it.

But now since it looks like I'll be moving and I expect I'd be doing some wheeling... Light stuff at first since I'm a total noob, but I want to make sure if I really get into it and want to start modding, that I'm starting with the 'correct' X.

So, should I get the OR (is the Nissan stuff worth it?) or get an S, save the bread, then just start upgrading it getting better stuff that the OR has stock?

Is the hill decent/locking rear dif worth the money with the OR?

Or is it not worth getting the factory stuff since I'll have to upgrade everything a anyway?

Thanks all. Can't wait for the X! :bounce:

·
on line
551 Posts
If you're moving to Colorado and plan on doing wheeling then I'd get the OR
As far as I'm concerned those two items (locker and hill descent) are the best reasons to get the OR.
Larger tires (265's) better interior material, skids (better than nothing) are just icing.
Remember it's better to have it and not need it, then need it and not have it.

·
on line
316 Posts
Magic Rat said:
If you're moving to Colorado and plan on doing wheeling then I'd get the OR
As far as I'm concerned those two items (locker and hill descent) are the best reasons to get the OR.
Larger tires (265's) better interior material, skids (better than nothing) are just icing.
Remember it's better to have it and not need it, then need it and not have it.