Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
on line
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry if this is a boneheaded question, I'm totally new at this.

If I replace my front door speakers and the tweeters, with say - the Boston Acoustics SX60 set... - do I have to use the crossover that comes with the replacement speakers? Doesn't there have to be a crossover somewhere else within the existing wiring harness running to the factory tweeters?

I'm keeping the factory head unit for the moment - but have a chance to get a new set of the BA SX60's really really cheap.

Just trying to keep this as simple as possible...

·
on line
500 Posts
The stock stereo (not Rockford Fosgate) does not have crossovers, because the speakers are not component. Crossovers are unique to the speakers, thus don't switch them.

Patrick

·
on line
500 Posts
On the stock speakers there's a resistor on the lead to the tweeter.

A resistor does not a crossover make!

·
on line
108 Posts
resistor, crossover...close enough. either way, put new tweeters in the dash and put the crossovers somewhere in the door, or there is probably room under the glove boxes, or under the center console monstrosity.

·
on line
1,638 Posts
I wouldn't put the crossover in the door. Creates the hassle of having to wire a tweeter lead back into the car through the door boot which is a PITA- assuming the crossover has one input and 2 outputs. There is plenty of space behind and under the stereo, behind kick panel, under dash, etc. Then you can locate the door speaker wires and connect to the crossover. And wiring a new tweeter lead if necessary is much easier with the crossover inside the car. Much less hassle and faster to get up and running.

·
on line
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks for all the suggestions! This is what makes these forums a great resource.