Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
on line
564 Posts
I am new to wheeling, and have little to no experience doing it, and I decided to go wheeling somewhere I probaly shouldnt have been. Well I went alone and wound up getting stuck at the bottom of a hill and could not get back up, and wound up blowing out...
Hmmm...maybe his inexperience might have something to do with the failure!

I got arrested for tresspassing, truck got towed away, and had to spend the night in Jail.....
And...he doesn't appear to be the brightest bulb in the box!

Rob

·
on line
230 Posts
robnfl said:
I am new to wheeling, and have little to no experience doing it, and I decided to go wheeling somewhere I probaly shouldnt have been. Well I went alone and wound up getting stuck at the bottom of a hill and could not get back up, and wound up blowing out...
Hmmm...maybe his inexperience might have something to do with the failure!

I got arrested for tresspassing, truck got towed away, and had to spend the night in Jail.....
And...he doesn't appear to be the brightest bulb in the box!

Rob
Clearly he is a kid who made some mistakes.....And them some. But you should be able to THRASH your truck with stock tires, gearing, ect without stuff exploding. You should not have to walk on egg shells and drive gental to avoid breakage. Having the differential housing blow apart is unheard of. After 20 years of wheeling I have seen even Dana 35 stock Jeeps pound the throttle on a ledge for a rediculous amount of time, and not even break an axle. And have witnessed 100s of Monteros over the years do crazy things.

I try to be gental on my 250,000 mile stock drivetrane Montero because of 35s and age, and hating to break. Same for the Xterra because it was brand new. But sometimes you have to get on it off-road, thats just the way it is. That is also why we don't have a Maxima drivetrane.