Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been scouring this forum for advice on stereo upgrades, and haven't really come to any kind of conclusions of note. I have a 2012 S with the basic set-up. Its fine for now but at some point I would like to upgrade. The question then becomes what and how. What should I upgrade and how/when should I upgrade. My first thought is a new head unit first, so I can connect an iPhone via either USB or aux. I don't think I care about the route taken, I would just like connectivity. So basically I'm asking for advice.

Can I maintain the current headunit and just add an aux-in or do I have to replace it?

If I replace it, what should I do it with ($200-ish)?

Should I have a shop do it or take it on personally? I'm some what mechanically inclined but I've got zero experience with car audio.

Then what? New midranges? Amp?

Thanks for the advice in advance.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Any more getting the deck out is half the battle then generally you can find an adapter harness to save you the trouble wiring the new deck. Some audio stores do offer aux input installation. As far as what deck that is entirely up to you.

·
Registered
2,316 Posts
So I've been scouring this forum for advice on stereo upgrades, and haven't really come to any kind of conclusions of note. I have a 2012 S with the basic set-up. Its fine for now but at some point I would like to upgrade. The question then becomes what and how. What should I upgrade and how/when should I upgrade. My first thought is a new head unit first, so I can connect an iPhone via either USB or aux. I don't think I care about the route taken, I would just like connectivity. So basically I'm asking for advice.

Can I maintain the current headunit and just add an aux-in or do I have to replace it?

If I replace it, what should I do it with ($200-ish)?