Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2011 PRO-4X
323 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, Just got our new to us X and planning a mid-October road trip from California and could use a little help.....

Please keep in mind we have a stock 2011 PRO-4X, ARB diff cover but no rock sliders yet and don't want to damage anything. I have been riding dirt bikes for 30 years, have a RZR since 2008 but this is my first modern 4X4 vehicle (1978 K5 Blazer back in the day). It will be my wife and 10 yo son with me. and we are in the pre planning stage.

Places we have to stop to see family are Winslow AZ, and Pagosa Springs CO. so those will be our two long travel days. Well they will all be long travel days but those are stops we have commited to.

Now from Pagosa to Moab it appears we could detour to either Imogene Pass or Black Bear Pass?
Thoughts...

·
Registered
211 Posts
So I live in Grand Junction now and lived in Alamosa in the San Luis Valley for many years. Imogene is pretty gnarly man! Google Black Bear Imogene and one of the first things that pops up is "death toll"! When are you planning on heading this way? We got a big September snow storm that has made the San Juans pretty dangerous. Numerous reports of shelfs of ice on back roads sliding off the roads w/ jeeps and Xs driving on them. Not fun! Pagosa is beautiful and there are lots of places to explore, but I'd stick to main roads to get to Moab

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2011 PRO-4X
323 Posts
Discussion Starter #3