Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
on line
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know a few of you have grenaded your front diffs and I think most have been running bigger tires.
I just thought I would share some info that I got from a friend that works for ARB. He said that most aluminum/alloy diffs don't do well with a marginally bigger tire size of even 1-2" bigger than stock. This is the case with Toyota and Jeep as well.
Before I even knew about the grenading issues, I had planned on keeping the stock tire size but switching to a BFG AT. I have been running the same size tire for over 5 years on my Rover and never needed anything bigger. I also ran 32s on my first Xterra. Granted on both of those vehicles I had to deal with the speedo being off and mileage sucking ass. It will be nice to not have to worry about the extra expense of a 33" or bigger tire and worrying about lost MPG, extra wear on components, possible diff grenading, and speedo correction..... all for a half inch of extra height.

I don't want to start a flame war with this post, but would just like anyone who is potentially in the market for different tires to keep this under consideration. I think a few folks that have gone to the 285/75/16 wish they would have gone to 265/75 instead.

·
on line
551 Posts
Thanks for the info mosi.
I'm on the fence on this, but I plan on running the stock tires for a while, just because of the expense.(and my other vehicle needs tires)
I was thinking of going to 255/85/16 BFG as others seem to have had good luck with them.

·
on line
1,864 Posts
:clown: You know I don't think I want to dampend the Trend--

--WE have to realize the limits that our vehicles can doo--

--Now , the tire size that NISSAN put on the X is OPTIMUM--

--THEY HAVE ENGINEERIRS that are paid a lot----

--Do you think they are stupid ???

-- :geek: :geek: --JIMBO

·
on line
429 Posts
JIMBO said:
:clown: You know I don't think I want to dampend the Trend--