Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so here's the deal, my suspension is clapped out. And when I say clapped out I mean really really clapped out. All shock tubes are leaking and I bottom out on the regular :bs:

Here's where I need everyone's help, I need to replace all this crap pretty badly so I figure I'd knock out two birds with a cinderblock and just get a full suspension kit and lift the Xterrable all together. But I have no idea what I should get :confused:

Since I do need to replace shocks and struts I figure a coilover setup would be the best bet for the front, and maybe an AAL with new shackles and shocks for the back. I can do all the work myself, but since I'm new to the Xterra scene (2 years) I don't really know what's out there.

If you have any suggestions on brands or setups that are legit, let me know!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
A lot of members on the forums bought their stuff from Nisstec and PRG. You could try looking at those sites. I'm sure someone who knows more lifts will chime in.
Thanks for the heads up!

How much over stock do you want to go?
I want to go with at least 2.5" front, and 2" in back. from what I've been reading, thats pretty much level.

·
Registered
5,402 Posts
Well, the PRG advanced lift is about that(half inch more on both ends). Being 7 years old you may want to look into front coil overs with ucas and a new leaf pack in the rear.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
find out how much your leaf springs are sagging by measuring your wheel well hieght and comparing it to the numbers in your user guide. If they are sagging a lot (and also if you are bottoming out a lot) you might want to consider replacement leaf packs because an AAL won't help for very long. There is a ton of info on replacement packs on this site.

-chris

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·