Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

Timbrens in Yesterday, Rear Only

2K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  bbuhlman 
#1 ·
Installed some active off road bump stops yesterday to hopefully help out my sagging rear end. No test drive yet but I will be fully loaded for the Tahoe trip soon. Just a bandaid, I know....

#7 ·
Newbie here. Just joined and saw this thread. I installed Timbrens last week because my 2010 2WD model that I just inherited from my wife (sold my pick up) was sagging, swaying, and bottoming when carrying my dirt bike on a hitch carrier, and towing our family Sea Ray boat. Frankly, this may have been about the best money I have ever spent on a vehicle modification. It's like a totally different truck! It rides high and firm off road with the dirt bike on the hitch carrier, the trailer issues are gone, and I'm still running the stock shocks! The unloaded ride seems unaffected. Interestingly, my wife had to take the Xterra to work yesterday as we had not gotten a tag for her new car, and she did not notice any difference in highway ride (she has no idea what I did to the truck).

Next project will be new dampers for all 4 corners. The truck (stock height) will be used for dirt bike carrying which includes some rough dirt roads, and boat towing. I'm thinking KYB. Other suggestions?

#8 ·
Hi rpt50,
I'm also pretty new and wouldn't want to steer you wrong so I won't give you advice but there is a ton of info here on suspension. There is a sticky with a lot of info on basics and the links below talk about shocks without a lift.

#10 · (Edited)