Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I've been reading as much as I can, and i just cant seem to get it to click as far as what exactly needs to be done.

I have a 2011 Xterra X, and I want a suspension lift. I want to do it somewhat inexpensively, but I also don't want to completely cheap out.

1: I'm pretty sure my leaf pack is shot. It seems very flat, could I get away with an add-a-leaf, or does the entire thing need replacing?

For the front shocks, can I just buy a new coil and possibly a coil spacer, or do I need new shocks as well?

and what else do i need? i see plenty of threads that show options... I'm just having trouble piecing together all the components i actually need.
Would i be better off buying a kit, or separate pieces?

I'm fairly new to modifying vehicles, so this is tough to jump into for me. thanks in advance guys.

·
Registered
1,772 Posts
if money permits getting new leaf packs are the way to go. The ones that come from the factory go flat very fast (as you can tell from yours). An add a leaf will help for a little bit but you will end up in the same situation you are in now down the road. I went with old man Emu leaf packs and they are great, I recently went up to the hd pack also (just add another leaf) and its a firm ride in back, which i like.

As for the front you can just add a top spacer to achieve lift. its not ideal but is a cheap option for you. Without doing new upper control arms, you will run into coil bucket contact (CBC). again if money permits new coil overs and upper control arms are the way to go.

you'll need to factor in what you do with your x, the weight (added armor etc.)

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)