Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
on line
2,077 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys,

been looking around for a few weeks now, getting ready to do a few mods soon, but i had a question...

i am looking at a springs and shackles lift kit, now, i am no mechanic...unfortunately...so i was called a local offroad shop about an install, the mechanic said he could not give me an exact price on the install but it could be up to $700.....

needless to say i was a little shocked, i expected $300 at most....any of youu guys who had a similar type of kit installed can you give me some feedback....i have another shop i will call in a few days, but i was just wondering if my expected price is too low, or if someone knew of a good shop to do an install around the baltimore, md, area!

Thanks all!

·
on line
8 Posts
No ways that kit should cost anywhere north of $300, including an alignment, installed. I found my installer thru tirerack.com, give that system a try, their customers give feedback on the installers. It was a blind shot in the dark for me, but it worked out really good and now I have a reliable local mechanic, at least for suspension and stuff.

·
on line
1,739 Posts
If there's a Harbor Freight near you you'll find some pretty cheap China-made jack stands and hydralulic jacks. You ought to walk out for less than $100. A bit of scrap lumber and a few common wrenches and you'll be set for life.

·
on line
2,077 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·