Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
on line
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im going camping to No. Cal redwoods in 3 weeks and again to either Yosemite or Sequoia the last week of September. Im taking passengers with me so im in dire need to use the cargo area on my '05 X SE. Although it already is equipped with the X cargo racks..... im wondering if i need to buy a roof basket to dump my tents, sleeping bags and grill onto it or if its really an unneeded necessity. Since im a straight noob at this, i figure id ask for all of yous, considering you're all experienced if not experts in this subject.

After market rack or stock roof rack?? (why or why not)

Thanks in advance!!

[if i buy, coleman will be the rack, considering its only $80 at Costco]

·
on line
564 Posts
DodgerBlues said:
I just ordered mine. Thanks guys!!!

Yeah...I guess it didn't take you too long to decide! I've gone camping for two nights and haven't needed any external storage, but that was only two of us. If you pack your gear right, you'll be amazed at how much gear you can fit back there.

Rob

·
on line
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
i hear ya.

im going with 2 other friends but taking 4 tents, a 50qt ice chest, 100qt ice chest (beer!), 5 sleeping bags, a grill, 5 air mattresses, like 8 chairs, 2 tables, our luggage, boombox, and who knows what else. Im soooo gonna need the extra room.

i think this will be the most packed of been. I wouldnt need it if it was only 2 of us......i can just flatten the back seats. And yes, that X with the back seats down can hold a ton of stuff. heh.

My first camping trip ever, a week after driving the X off the lot 2 years ago. :geek:

·
on line
1,361 Posts
DodgerBlues said:
i hear ya.