Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, learned the hard way that my 2007 Off Road's spark plugs have never been replaced. Well, at least that I know of (third owner). Odometer is at 143K, and I don't even know if it's conceivable that they lasted this long.

A friend recommended that when I replace the spark plugs, I replaced the wires and coils, and others online rec that too. I am a complete amateur on this kind of stuff. My questions:

1) should I replace them too? (I don't know of any issues with them, this would be just for "might as well do it while you're in there" purposes")

2) if so, is there a recommended wire/coil pack? I see that NGK has packs for some vehicles but don't see one for 2nd Gen X's. Or that era Frontiers or Pathfinders which I imagine are the same. If you have a rec, please give it, and again, the simpler the better given my amateur hour status.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,263 Posts
^ what they said. My coils are all original at 382,000. I am actually quite surprised myself, getting ready to change my plugs for the 4th time.

140K on the plugs isn't that big of a deal. There rated at 105K so there definitely past due, but its unlikely the swap will cause any grief.

The factory plugs are NGK iridium. The coils are Hitachi. If you buy the right part numbers of those brands from the parts supplier of your choice then your getting OEM stuff, and there is no reason to deviate. Do however buy from a reputable source because fleebay is full of coutnerfits. Amazon is usually fine if its 'shipped and sold by Amazon" not 3rd parties. RockAuto is a lot of people's favorite as well.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes, the code I got was that Cylinder 3 was misfiring, and this was after extremely rough idling and the check engine light coming on.