Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
on line
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Why can't the xterra place the rear axel under the spring like the pick-ups have? I remeber doing the oppisite on old pick-ups to lower them.

·
on line
1,320 Posts
having the spring under axle is better. it eliminates axle wrap and is said to be better for travel/articulation.
The spring over axle makes for a cheap way to lift using blocks but that decreases performance and multiplies the effect of axle wrap.

·
on line
1,320 Posts
i'm no engineer and don't really know how to explain it but it's basically the torque placed on the axle when you gas it makes wrap the axle twist and wrap up/twist the spring...

·
on line
1,831 Posts
Don't bother with spring-over set-ups unless you've got a full-size truck. It's great for load bearing applications but worthless off-road. Also, as mentioned above, spring-over set-ups apply more stress on the leaf springs, increasing the likelihood of a jerky rear end and possibly broken leafs.

·
on line
15,651 Posts
Not to mention it would give you close to 5" of lift in the rear with no way to lift the front the equal height.

·
on line
576 Posts
lifeinthesouth said:
having the spring under axle is better. it eliminates axle wrap and is said to be better for travel/articulation.
The spring over axle makes for a cheap way to lift using blocks but that decreases performance and multiplies the effect of axle wrap.
Having spring under is better
- Depends on what is "better".

It eliminates axle wrap
- It doesn't "eliminate", but yes, less likey too. But if the spring over is done right, with new springs, axle wrap is not an issue.

SUA is Better for travel/articulation
- Where did u come up with this? To be honest, its actually the opposite.

-And the biggest advantage of SOA is that you won't get hung up on a rock with your leaf packs or bottom shock mounts.

·
on line
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #9