Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I see all of y’all’s lifted tanks, lifted and looking nice. I wanted to lift mine up with new shocks, but sadly I’m a college student, I sold my car and made a small profit buying the X, wanted to splurge on mods but might save it for emergency’s.

give me 5 years and I’ll have my rig really going, in the meantime I hope I get lucky at scrapyards.

·
Registered
2,976 Posts
Save your cash for maintenance and repairs while you finish college.
There will be plenty of opportunities to mod your Xterra once you graduate.

·
Registered
2012 Xterra Pro4x
95 Posts
I agree with saving the cash for Important stuff. You can always do small upgrades like changing out existing lights inside and out to LEDs or adding a cheap storage net on the ceiling. Stuff that will keep you interested but won’t break the bank. Good luck.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Save your cash for maintenance and repairs while you finish college.
There will be plenty of opportunities to mod your Xterra once you graduate.
Yeah I need new struts, and almost got a lift kit plus 5100. Opted for the 4600s for 300 bucks. Would have been almost 7-800 for a lift plus 5100.

maybe in the future.

·
Registered
2011 Pro4x
30 Posts
If you arent lifting, is there still any benefit to buying the 5100's? Certainly you might be able to lift in the future with minimal effort but what about ride quality etc? Otherwise, 4600's all around for me too...

·
Registered
974 Posts
If you are counting expenses like this than "building" the truck is not for you , at least for now.
I have a lot of disposable income but even I cannot justify to myself spending the thousands it needs to build it up.
I just tell myself its a PRO4X to begin with and that has to be enough.