Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
2,767 Posts
The consensus is that the Koyo A2807 is the best radiator under $200. The "2807" number is used by multiple radiator manufacturers with most being 1 row. According to some the A2807 may be made by TYC. Has anyone looked at using the TYC 2807 instead? It is a 1 row design and is very cheap at $62.

http://www.amazon.com/TYC-2807-Aluminum-Replacement-Radiator/dp/B0020MGA4G
I put the Koyo in mine a couple of weeks ago, its a direct fit and looks exactly like the stock one coming out except for a brass transmission cooler. Personally I have no experience with the model your looking at (TYC) but 62 dollars seems way too cheap in my opinion for such an important part, I wouldn't use it based on that price.

·
Super Moderator
4,384 Posts
. . . According to some the [Koyo] A2807 may be made by TYC . . . .
According to whom?

Also, you cannot rely on the illustrations/photos of radiators by the sellers on the Internet. They are likely generic photos. For example, the website you link for the Koyo radiator reads in red print, "Images used may be generic. Actual product may vary."

In my experience, saving a buck for a part of unknown origin rather than buying a brand that can be trusted is more expensive in the long run (especially when substantial labor is involved to install it.)

·
Registered
2,767 Posts

·
Registered
2,767 Posts
According to whom?

Also, you cannot rely on the illustrations/photos of radiators by the sellers on the Internet. They are likely generic photos. For example, the website you link for the Koyo radiator reads in red print, "Images used may be generic. Actual product may vary."

In my experience, saving a buck for a part of unknown origin rather than buying a brand that can be trusted is more expensive in the long run (especially when substantial labor is involved to install it.)