Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm doing my research about lifts and found the Lift Options thread but I have a couple questions on it. I'm new to working on my car but I'm trying to learn so if you can explain in stupid-man English please =) On the section about using spacers for the front, it states "No increase in travel. Can result in the Upper Control Arm (UCAs) hitting the coilover bucket/mount at higher lifts. Increases CV angle which will add stress to the front differential".

Should I run into any issues using a 2 inch spacer with the UCA hitting the coilover bucket/mount? Also, what is the CV angle? I haven't been able to find anything on it yet.

On the section about the "New Shackles" cons, it says soft suspension. Why would a soft suspension be bad? Unless I am thinking of something different.

Thank you!

·
Registered
81 Posts
Some people get coil bucket contact with a 2 inch spacer and some don't. I got it really bad which is why I moved to the Old Man Emu kit. Anytime you lift the truck, the CV angles get harsher. The front axle shafts have CV joints at both the bottom and the top of them. This allows them to still spin the front wheels through the entire range of motion of the front suspension. You really don't have to worry about CV angles with only a 2" lift. Nissan CVs are known to be fairly strong.