Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alright, I have gotten some conflicting information so I thought I would ask for your all's expertise. I have a 2010 S. I have the factory radiator skid plate and due to hunting, beach driving, etc, I would like to add more skid plates. I am a poor teacher so Shrockworks stuff that I see guys talk about are out of the question on my budget. I got to looking at Nissan's Parts site, and noticed that the "Cover Under-Engine" Part Number #50842 and is $26.00 and the "Cover Transmission Upper" Part Number 50884M is $22.00. So I have two questions:

According to the Nissan Parts website, these won't fit/work on my S because it's not an Off-Road series, is that truly the case?

If they would fit/work on my S, what are they made out of?

Thanks for the info!

·
Premium Member
9,952 Posts
The factory skids for the offroad/pro4x will bolt right up to any trim xterra. You will need to buy most of the hardware too.

$26 and $22 sound way too cheap though. Are you sure those are the skids?

Edit:
I just looked, those are the skids and they are that cheap :thumbright:

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Look at the FS pages here. A lot of people sell the OEM skids as well. The OEM skids are okay. Better than the plastic "skids" on my Blazer for sure but I'd still recommend getting a steel Hefty or Shrock engine skid though as the OEM one is very tiny and not very protective.

·
Professional Amateur Wanderer
471 Posts