Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, another newbie here. I recently purchased a 2005 4x4 Off Road /automatic, 108000 miles on, for a very good deal because p0430 code came on 2 weeks ago and the previous owner didn't want to deal with it and took out the Bank 2 cat replacement cost (I'm in california so it's a big deal.) I agreed that I'll take care of the smog.

Anyways, the SES lamp went off after I refilled the gas at Chevron with 92 premium and drove for about 30 miles on the freeway. After another 60 miles of freeway driving, it hasn't come back on, and I checked it on the code reader again and the code is gone now. The previous owner said the SES was on for about 2 weeks (100 miles) before I bought it.

Was the cat really bad or something else was causing it, like a fuel cap? Again, I live in California and am hoping I don't have to replace the cat, do I? Is there anything else I should be looking at?

On the side note, I noticed the water temp gauge always shows it a bit below the center of the gauge. Is it normal? Because the exhaust smells bit like it's running rich at the start up whether the engine is hot or not and wondering that might have caused the cat to fail, I don't know. I plan to replace the thermostat while replacing the radiator as a preventive measure anyways. Other than that there is no nose and running nice, for now.

I didn't seem to be able to find the answer in the other threads. Any input will be appreciated. Or it'll be great if you can take me to a right thread.

Just to clarify, I did confirm the code on the reader before it went off, and I didn't clear the code. It went off by itself.

·
Registered
1,305 Posts