Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
638 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys,

I am brand new to serious mods like tweaking the suspension, lifting and anything external to my X. I have a 2007 S xterra and have decided to keep it instead of getting a new car. So i want to do some stuff to it for fun.

Id like to lift it a little, like 2" or so with the intent of putting up to 33" tires on the stock wheels at some point. I read through the sticky on options and have a few questions.

1: for the front, would replacing my stock suspension with the bilstein coilovers form the pro4X model do anything for lift? if not, how do you get a certain amount of lift out of going to coilovers? I dont quite get how they work.

2: On the rear, can i do shackles with a coil over? i see in the common setups that coilovers commonly go with AAL but id rather not run into driveline vibrations.

Any suggestions based on my goal of about 2" of lift and possible 33" tires would be greatly appreciated. And the more explanation the better. Id like to understand what i'm doing and not just blindly do things to my truck. I did just get the aries brush guard for the front so the coilovers seem like a good option based on increased weight.

Thanks,

Cory

·
Registered
3,012 Posts
OP your a bit confused on the rear, leaf springs not coilover out back. Now....

1. No Bilsteins from Pro4 will not give you lift. A spacer will, or you can buy a new coil spring, or a complete coilover assembly that is adjustable(Radflo,SAW,TJM, Bilstein) for ride height.

2. Rear lift can be achieved by new shackle, Add a Leaf(AAL) or a new custom spring pack( Alcan, Deaver, local spring company).

Hope this helps ya a bit in choosing what direction to go.

·
Registered
638 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the replies guys.

I didnt mean to have coilovers on the rear. i just meant coilovers on the front, paired with shackle on the rear.