Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
on line
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody.

Signed up with the forum cuz Im thinking bout getting an xterra for my wife in the next year or so but I refuse to have any 4x4 in stock condition and I will need some info on lifts and whatnot.

My bio

Im in the army, currently stationed in FT Bliss TX, (el paso). I am an unmanned aerial vehicle operator. Im 24 years old married with the first kid on the way. Hence the need for an SUV.

Now the good stuff.
Been into cars since toddler days and got into wheelin when I got stationed in AZ. Always interested in it but never had any resources being from MD. Just not a whole lot of people into it where Im from.

I caught the rockcrawling bug pretty heavy and made alot of newbie mistakes. First mistake was the purchase of a 4 cyl 1993 wrangler. Second mistake was buying a super 35 kit and upgrading the Dana 35. I also put a 4"lift, 33"s, 4.88s, detroit out back and lock right up front with your normal motor upgrades. Cold air K&N, header ETC.

Always wanted a cherokee so I picked up a 93 XJ with a rebuilt 4.0. I (well, my friends mostly) fabbed up a custom 9"lift. Crazy flex but I didnt have any money left so I took the lock rite out of the wrangler and put it in the cherokee and welded up the rear chrysler 8.25. Swapped the 33s from the wrangler too. It had an auto so the stock 3.55 gears worked surprisingly well. Just needed stronger axles.

Sold the wrangler.

Kept breaking shafts on the XJ, got frustrated and sold the XJ cuz "rockcrawlin was too expensive".

Didnt make it 4 months before I was lookin for another rig.