Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been itching for an off road rig, and I think Xterra is going to get the nod. I’m looking at Isuzu Trooper, Ford Ranger, and Jeep Cherokee as well.

This rig will be a hunting beater that may cross over into some real off roading. I want fully off road capable, but this won’t be a dedicated overlander with Moab on the agenda.

I’m BRAND new to Xterras. Is there anything inherent to certain years / models etc to watch out for while looking for a base donor to upgrade?

I def want 4WD, auto trans, and V6. I’ve done a bit of looking, but I can’t find a detailed overview of each from level. What specifically does Pro 4X offer that makes it so desirable? Quick search shows close to $8k difference in reasonably clean non Pro4X vs an equivalent Pro4X.

Is that trim worth It for my objective? Seems like I could add A LOT on the way of after market for $8,000.

Any links or input is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
The Pro4x will give you a rear locker, lower gearing, Bilstein shocks and I think the better Rockford Fosgate stereo. Some came with leather seats too. You'll pay a premium for a P4x.

A v6 is your only engine choice. The auto's in the xterra are very solid and regularly run 250k+ with no issues IF you properly maintain it. 05-09's (and some '10's) were prone to SMOD (strawberry milkshake of death) which occurs when the stock radiator fails internally and mixes coolant with transmission fluid (which turns into a pink milkshake looking mixture), which destroys the transmission. It's a simple problem to avoid by spending $150 and installing a new radiator. All new radiators are built to not fail in the way the originals did (the radiator has a built in trans cooler and the originals would corrode and fail, which mixes the coolant).