Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

New Guy Here...

2K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  GreyDuck 
#1 ·
Hello!
Bought my xterra a few months ago, primarily used by my mother inlaw.

I'm a licensed chrysler mechanic located in ontario Canada.

Got this for a steal $2600cnd from my work. It was a trade in. Had to jump on it since it was a good deal and had to replace my 2003 Dakota that was falling apart. Knew I wouldn't find or afford a used pickup due to covid I had to settle for this. I also used to work for nissan briefly 9 years ago in Edmonton and always loved the xterra.

Has 210k kms currently. Had to replace the rad, one leaf spring assembly and fix one front speed sensor when I bought it. Im not a huge truck/suv guy but they have their uses. I've been a Honda guy for many years.

See less See more
#4 ·
Thanks! It's not a pro4x. It's only an off road. I want to do a mild lift and some more aggressive tires when these tires are done, probably after the winter. It's currently driven by my 67 year old mother inlaw so lifting it isn't a good idea. My wife's lease is up next summer and she wants this after.

Heading to an island near me this week with the family. I live in windsor, about 45 minutes from Detroit. Packed the X full for the trip.

#5 ·
Thanks! It's not a pro4x. It's only an off road.
View attachment 137831
Yellow's one of my favorite colors for Xs :D

Off Road is basically Pro-4x. They changed the trim level name in 2010 but the trim level is the same. The only thing you don't have is the roof lights, but the Off Road/Pro-4X trim didn't even get those until 2008 I think? Maybe 2009.

I'd also suggest replacing BOTH leaf packs, not just one. You've got one (probably very worn) old pack and one new pack. The spring rate and lift will be different on the old one compared to the new one.

#7 ·