Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
on line
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I am an X noob so bear with me. I am finding my new X hits pretty hard and pretty easily in the rear when i have a load in the rear. I understand it will do this once there is extra weight in the back but to me this happens too easily. I only have the S model and not the OR package with the better shocks.

Has anyone else experienced this? I am coming from a Land Rover so i am used to a something more solid underneath me. Can i do something easy with the Leaf Springs or maybe the OR shocks to keep this from happening?

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers....

Shane

·
on line
15,651 Posts
Do a quick search.

This has been a problem since the first 2nd Gen X's rolled out of the factory. There has been two solutions to the problem. New bump stops or Add-A-Leaf in the rear. Problem with the AAL is that it lifts the vehicle.

·
on line
1,884 Posts
Muzikman said:
Problem with the AAL is that it lifts the vehicle.
A lift is a problem? I thought it was mandatory in order to post here on the new (lifted) X :geek:

·
on line
3,272 Posts
RogueClimber said:
Muzikman said:
A lift is a problem? I thought it was mandatory in order to post here on the new (lifted) X :geek:

Don't forget that AAL's require shims and apparently some people vary in opinion as to what works better, a 2 or 3 degree.

Edit: Although I believe the shim problem is only depending on certain vendors. I may be mistaken though.

·
on line
564 Posts
There's a third solution...unbolt the two bolts holding each bumpstop on, stick them in a vice and hack about an inch off of the stop. Voila, less bottoming out and more rear suspension travel.

Rob

·
on line
238 Posts