Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
on line
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, after putting a few miles on my X, I feel like it needs to sound meaner. More like Infiniti FX's or G35's. What makes them sound so damn good compared to the stock system in the X? I mean they have similar VQ engines so it shouldn't be hard to get ours to sound as good.

Anyway, I thought this could be a thread for people to post all of the exhaust sounds, specs and video. :cheers:

·
on line
1,891 Posts
Might have something to do with the engine size and the dual exhaust, but I'm no expert on this, I'm sure the other guys here will chime in on this one.
:drunken:

·
on line
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Not the FX35's right? They have a V6. Anyway, the G35 is more of the sound I am looking for. I always hear them take off and am impressed by their sound.

·
on line
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
OK, I've been doing my own research here, so I'll do my best to get this info out there and add more as it comes along...

Magnaflow Stainless Cat Back System - Part # 16654
$475 on ebay (cheapest I could find)
+ 9hp
+12 ft/lbs
Sounds like this frontier with the dual magnaflow system most likely.

Gibson SS System - Part #612216 ('06)
$600 but includes Y-pipe
~6hp + ~6tq
Here's a video of the Gibson SS in action

Dynomax Ultra Flo Cat Back System - Part # 19443
$415 at autopartswarehouse

Flowmaster Exhaust

I'd like to get more info and sound clips before making any decisions...

·
on line
1,208 Posts
I have the magnaflow exhaust and am very happy with it.

Magnaflow Stainless Cat Back System - Part # 16654
$475 on ebay (cheapest I could find)