Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys,
i just bought a cb for the x and i need to buy everything else. i am new to the cb world and any advice on antenna size,type,brand etc.. would be much appreciated and also is there a good local shop to buy the cb equipment i need.

thanks,
dan
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
1,743 Posts
Hey Dan, there's a great shop up at Johnson's corner just North of the Truck Stop and there's another one at the Sapp Brothers by the old Stapleton. I believe there's one at the Truck stop in Wheat Ridge at I-70 and Ward Rd.. I'd go with a Firestik also, if I see you this week end look at mine.

·
on line
10,980 Posts
I'm a fan of whip antennas ... but they can sometimes be unwieldy on the trail (they're often long).

I used a shop called SBS Electronics back in 2010 when I was having a devil of a time getting my antenna sorted ... they were awesome to work with. Saga here: http://www.thenewx.org/forum/showthread.php?t=27997&highlight=cb

I dunno if they're still around (Google Maps says closed or relocated ... :dontknow:), but they're up in Wheatridge off of 70 on 44th. Give 'em a call and see if they can get you an appointment to sort it all out ... assuming they're still in business.

·
Registered
1,441 Posts
Hey Dan, there's a great shop up at Johnson's corner just North of the Truck Stop...
I 2nd this. The shop is run by a father and daughter who know a whole lot about cb setups and are always willing to give advice to newbies (one thing you may not get from a truck stop cb shop). One warning is that they can sometimes be set in their ways and a bit stubborn with their opinions, but overall they're good folks.

·
Registered
608 Posts
Firestick is extremely overated. Go with a magnetic roof mounted one for best reception and transmition range.

·
Registered
176 Posts