Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
on line
1,739 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Part two of my LED addiction

Part one was the overhead festoon lights: http://thenewx.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=7645

I'm a avid amateur radio operator and have a Yaesu FT-8800 mounted under my passenger seat next to the Rockford Fostgate amplifier.

I've had the detachable faceplate mounted on a strip of velcro just in front of the AC controls. The frequency display is lit but the buttons aren't illuminated at all. I've had to either use a small flashlight or a gooseneck LED light. Not the best for ease of use.

I've also added a CB radio into the armrest console which is pretty simple but also doesn't have any lights.

So I looked at the lid of the arm rest and thought that it would be a good place to mount a pair of LED light assemblies. I removed the three screws holding the top of the arm rest to the console and pulled the back of the console off to check out the cigarette lighter. I'll use this for my power source.

The inside of the lid comes off with four T screws. Inside I mounted a simple tilt switch. I put three pieces of 3M tape on the high side and one piece on the other so that when the lid closes the switch opens and shuts off the lights. Opening the console lid a bit puts the blue lights on. I picked blue as to be soft on my night vision.

The point-to-point wiring was done with heat shrink and soldier. The tilt switch is put in series with the (+) lead. Very easy to do. A quick post wiring check on the bench before the installation.

Each LED assembly is four LEDs that paint a pretty broad light.