Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been trying to research ways to “upgrade” my Xterra for more durable towing (for lack of any better term).

What I’ve seen is swap differentials, and add a leaf and/or air bags. What interested me is swapping to a beefier rear differential but not even sure where to really begin looking.

I’m a rookie with car modifications and abbreviate terms for parts or mods. So checking out some other topics here left me no better than I came in. Apologies if in the wrong place and I seem as green as I am.

Also don’t do forums at all for anything, so I’m branching out in my quest for knowledge.

2007 Xterra X M/T RWD

thanks

·
Registered
536 Posts
There's a lot to unpack there...

So are you looking to increase towing capacity? Smoother ride when you tow?

The rated towing capacity is 5000 lbs. That's with a class 3 receiver and trailer brakes/brake controller. If you've got a stock hitch, you probably have the wiring kit and relays, but you can check. IIRC, they're behind the passenger kick panel. With the short wheelbase and the brakes as they are, I wouldn't push past 5000 lbs, personally. I'm sure others will chime in with their opinions as well.

If your rear leafs are flattened, you have three options:

1.) New leafs
2.) Add A Leaf (AAL)
3.) Airbags

If your rear leafs are flat, the best option is new leafs. Also the most expensive. You get new leafs that can handle the extra 500lbs tongue weight that you'd see with a properly distributed load.

The bandaid approach is AAL. It'll give you a little more support, but it's only a matter of time. If you don't really tow much, maybe that's ok.

Airbags work best if your leafs are in good shape and don't want a lift. You pump up the airbags and load up your trailer. You get the extra support of the bags when you need them and deflate them when you don't.