Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
on line
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:scratch:
Well, I called Total Chaos and quizzed them on their Upper Control Arms (UCA). What I found out is that they are NOT heat-treated! Personally, I think that not heat-treating 4130 is simply dumb as you end up with a part that isn't much stronger than 1020 mild steel with brittle weld areas (and it's more expensive to boot). Also, still not to sure about the "1 inch uniballs". The gentleman on the phone said they would last thousands and thousands of miles but the one thing that would wear them out is dirt getting in the ball and that they should be wipped down at every fueling.
I can deal with maintenance on the balls but no heat-treat... I'll pass.

·
on line
238 Posts
Hey Dude-Man,

Let me first disclaim all info since I'm not a professional welder or metalergist, so I do not claim any fame except reading :blackeye: . I arc weld and understand some about metals, welds, and how heating/cooling can mess with a weld and the surrounding material.
So, just did a little reading on the net. I'm not sure that not heat treating is a bad thing depending on several things that I've read. First, if they are using chromoly rod/filler they definitely need heat treating, if they use one of the regular carbon rod/filler (can't remember the types off hand) then other things depend. Two, if the wall thickness is .120 or less and the first rule applies for not heat treating it will be ok. Third, for the metal to not become brittle as you pointed out the weld must be cooled on its own and not quenched (cooled quicker). It needs to be cooled slowing for best results. Oh, oh, and the last thing is that they are tig welding or very good with mig to make up the difference (a disputed point among fabricators).