Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
on line
463 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the mandatory disclaimer: I'm not a professional at this but I'm willing to share !

First, I believe this should be covered by warranty, especially if it leaks or rattles.
If it becomes a do-it-yourself project, here's what I learned
Your rack has six pieces:
two sidebars- the long ones
two crossbars- the short ones
one storage box
one faring- the wind deflector
It is my belief that the threaded inserts installed in our roofs weren't tightened sufficiently against the roof. But, Nissan did use Lok-tite on the screws into the inserts making removal VERY Difficult.
Tool List:
Needle-nose Vice-Grips

Nut-sert tool

30mm Torx wrench

9/16" or 14mm combination wrench- see above pic.
6mmX1.0x30mm allen-head bolt - see above pic.
Liquid Wrench foaming

There are a number of companies that make and sell threaded inserts Below is a picture of three:

From right to left;
Nissan's-bolt still attached- ( What you don't want !)
Knurled or splined sides- my preference
smooth sides
I received great help from HW ECkhardt Corp.
www.hweckhardt.com or
800-606-4466
The insert that I used is an AVK fastener Part # ALS4-610-42
Now, my nutsert install tool came from Aircraft Spruce and Specialty, cost less than $ 5.00. see below:

I used the Liquid wrench two days before to attempt any penetration. Some members expressed concern that you could leak to the headliner.
Frankly, the oil never reached the threads. ( Remember ? Lok-tite.)
There are twenty-seven of these bolts: You must use slow, steady pressure to loosen the bolts.
First: There are four bolts across the front of the faring and two plastic
" snap-in" studs into the storage box, lift up.
Second: Open the storage compartment, there are two bolts on each side.
And, Yes there are other bolts underneath !
Third: If they loosen, remove the crossbars. If not, they do slide off when the sidebars are removed.