Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,811 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I ordered and welded up Hardcore's Nissan Xterra (2nd Gen) Rear Bumper DIY Weld Up Kit with a receiver. They're currently $224.

Here's how the kit came.

And here's a picture I found of the back side of one welded up (not mine). Looks like there's a tire carrier on this one.

I'm a hobbyist welder. I'd gas, stick and MIG welded since I was a kid and I took a semester welding class at the local community college last year to fill in the basics. I used my Hobart Handler 210 MVP MIG to weld this bumper.

I'd had a pretty bad failure on my previous Shrock rear bumper, which I talk about here, so I wanted to beef up this bumper.

I liked the Shrock design for the plate that attaches to the frame and how it ties in the extra bolt to the frame like a stand alone receiver uses (Shrock shown in photo)

So I copied it. The cut out and ramping of the one bolt hole makes it so you can leave one bolt in the frame and slide the bumper on it. Super nice not having to hold the bumper up when getting the first bolts started.

I cut a piece of 1/4" plate, beveled the side that faces the frame, filled it with weld, ground it flush and then gusseted the inboard side.

I wanted more support for the receiver than what my Shrock had so I added a piece of tubing. I got lucky and was given a piece of 3" x 2" x 1/4" wall rectangular tubing.

I cut a square out of the tubing and welded in my receiver tube.

Then I tacked everything together.

The stock cut out for the 7 pin connector wasn't going to clear the tubing I added so I extended it.

Then I welded everything up.

I also added a piece around the end of the receiver tube, I thought that looked a lot nicer on the Shrock I was copying and the extra strength shouldn't hurt either.

For the license plate light I decided to copy the Shrock again. I actually like the cheapy light that goes in there.