Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
probably a stupid question but i’m a noob. google results say some people cover certain areas then spray it down and others say you don’t need to cover anything. so is it bad if certain parts get wet?

·
Registered
100 Posts
My practice is as follows:

1) Make sure engine compartment is cool.
2) Spray everything down with a foaming engine degreaser
3) Wait 5-10 minutes
4) Hose everything down with low water pressure
5) Dry off the flat plastic parts of the engine bay with a towel
6) Optional step. If an air compressor is handy and you are feeling like an over achiever, blow out some of the crevices in the plastic

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Once a year, I will use an engine cleaner followed by a pump up sprayer filled with water.

Basically, the sprayer allows me to rinse what's needed without worry of getting water anywhere unneeded.

Whenever I'm in a cleaning mood I will spray the plastic under the hood with "Mothers VLR". This product works well to clean and enhance all the black plastic under your hood.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My practice is as follows:

1) Make sure engine compartment is cool.
2) Spray everything down with a foaming engine degreaser
3) Wait 5-10 minutes
4) Hose everything down with low water pressure
5) Dry off the flat plastic parts of the engine bay with a towel
6) Optional step. If an air compressor is handy and you are feeling like an over achiever, blow out some of the crevices in the plastic
can everything in there get wet?

·
Registered
208 Posts
What if its hot? other than some steam whats the drawback? seems like it might even help remove some of the caked on oil/etc.