Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

How Bad is it to Drive on Mismatch Tires

3K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  JeffBett 
#1 ·
I'm currently running 265/70r16 and my spare is the stock P4X (265/75r16?). If I had to use it, what are the ramifications? I would instinctively put it on the front so it's not on a drive wheel.

Sure it's not ideal, but how bad? Don't even think about it'll ruin your front differential/suspension? Or drive carefully as the car is going to handle poorly.

According to a tire size comparison its exactly 1 inch (3.3%) bigger.

Thanks!

#2 ·
Though I'm not a tire expert, for a truck like the Xterra it should be alright, 1" is not too severe just don't drive too fast or aggressively.

It should be fine, but get your tire fixed or get new ones (replace in pairs or all four) asap.

The ABS and traction control could get confused a bit but it shouldn't be severe.

Kal Tire-
"Many vehicle and tire manufacturers recommend the difference in diameter among your tires be no more than 4/32”. Some manufacturers even suggest a maximum diameter variance of 2/32”."

https://www.doityourself.com/stry/5-facts-about-spare-tires-
"If you have a full-size but mismatching tire, you will be able to drive it longer than a compact or dummy tire, but it will still have to be replaced by a proper matching tire and should not be included as part of your vehicle’s tire rotation pattern. "

#5 ·
#6 ·
I should have searched before. Looks like using a mismatched spare to get you to the shop might not work either

A good thread here:
https://www.thenewx.org/forum/69-brakes-tires-wheels/259714-twist-unmatched-tire-size-debate.html

"[with mismatched tires] in 2wd you’d likely be getting ABS, slip, traction control codes due to the perceived difference in speed between the front wheels and rear wheels due to the difference in rpms caused be the different circumferences."