Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
on line
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Hope this is the right place to post this...

Now that 2nd gen X's have been on the road since 2005, anyone have any comments on long term reliability?

My point is simple, my 2005 is nearing 120kms or 7400 miles, should I start expecting problems on the engine?

Is the rest of the truck generally still reliable at this point?

I havent done any serious off-roading, just a lot of dirt/logging roads to and from fishing and hunting spots - and lots of highway. The clutch was replaced about 7 months ago (my bad zero-traction skills at work!!).

Other than that the truck is in good shape, no rust, just a few scrapes and bruises.

Any thoughts?

This is my first Nissan so I have NO experience -

·
on line
707 Posts
If there is one thing that has always seemed to be reliable on Nissans its the engines and the VQ series especially. I am only about 37K though so can't say much beyond what I have read.

·
on line
750 Posts
46K here and purrs like a kitten. I've had two previous Nissan pickups with the Z-24 engine and they ran fantastic well into the 170K mark. Nissan is well known for the reliability of their motors.

·
on line
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
With the kind of off-roading I mentioned - fire/logging trails - is the suspension something to be worried about?

Should I consider beefing up shocks and springs before getting armour??

Also, about the units - when you say 62k miles for example, you mean 6200m miles, correct?....

·
on line
366 Posts
gonefishin said:
With the kind of off-roading I mentioned - fire/logging trails - is the suspension something to be worried about?

Also, about the units - when you say 62k miles for example, you mean 6200m miles, correct?....