Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
on line
496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have switched to Amsoil Syn. for everything except automatic transmission, and that was at 10000K. Now is time to change the tranny fluid, and after reading all kind of stories here, I'll do it at dealer to be on safe side. When reading my maintenance booklet, it says replace automatic transmission fluid, and "optional" flush the transmission with ATF. Does this mean I have to ask the dealer to flush it before replacing ? I thought it will be flushed anyway, or is it an extra procedure, and extra cost obviously ?

·
Registered
575 Posts
If no tranny problems, I would do a simple drain and fill at home using any of various brands of fluid approved for Japanese autos as labeled on jug. Can do this many times for cost of paying a shop. Have heard more than once of people having problems after a flush.

·
on line
3,285 Posts
I'm not a proponent of power flushes. Some people argue that power flushes can be more damaging than helpful.

Personally, I started doing drain and fills at 20,000 miles with Amsoil. I do the drain and fill every 20,000 miles (approx. 1 year).

I'm at 140,000 miles now, and my fluid is pink! So far, my transmission has not given me any problems.

·
on line
496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I read about few problems after flushing, so I guess I can skip that part, and go Amsoil Syn in that case ? And is capacity 10.9 quarts as on Amsoil site ? Nissan does not mention capacity in their specs ?