Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 169 Posts

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well the stock roof rack just wasn't going to support my lofty ideas of ridiculous lighting, so the obvious answer was to build a custom roof rack around the lights right? Not done yet, but here is this week's progress, I will continue to update this.

Materials made it home

A few bends

The magic happening

The mess

The current result

Oh, and its stupid lightweight...

Hold it with one finger kinda lightweight...

·
Registered
1,706 Posts
nice. Looks like a great start. so wish I had the skills to weld aluminum. but I am still a noob when it comes to welding in general.

·
Registered
5,402 Posts
Looks great so far.

nice. Looks like a great start. so wish I had the skills to weld aluminum. but I am still a noob when it comes to welding in general.
You want to talk about noob, last time I welded I forgot to turn the gas on and couldn't figure out why the weld was so horrible.

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks!

We might have forgot to re-open the valve on the Argon bottle once... That's what grinders are for right? haha

·
Premium Member
9,953 Posts
Nice! I didn't catch the spool gun when I looked at the pictures the first time.

What welder are you using? Is aluminum as hard as most people act like it is to weld?

I just ordered a Hobart Handler 190 w/spoolgun yesterday, that's why I'm asking

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Nice! I didn't catch the spool gun when I looked at the pictures the first time.

What welder are you using? Is aluminum as hard as most people act like it is to weld?

I just ordered a Hobart Handler 190 w/spoolgun yesterday, that's why I'm asking