Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
on line
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm very close to purchasing a 2007 Xterra. I'm currently debating between a 6 spd and the auto. I like a manual trans, but several of the posts on this forum and others have me concerned.

Has Nissan made any upgrades to the clutch assembly that would make me feel better about purchasing a 2007 manual trans?

Thanks for any insight you may have.

·
on line
612 Posts
No updates have been made, go with the auto b/c you'll probably be better off for offroading and what not also.

Nissan doesn't like to cover anything w/ the clutch either. You could probably blow up your auto and it would be covered.

·
on line
1,361 Posts
I am an MT fan all the way but haven't had a clutch problem yet. I say get what you like the best.

·
on line
616 Posts
I have the MT and narry a clutch problem. I prefer a manual off-road, but then again I have many years experience with manuals off-road. I find the gearing of the MT X more than adequate for the X's off road capabilities (in stock form of course).

But the real reason I bought the manual is that is that it extracts the most from the VQ40. It's a good bit of fun to drive, which cant be said of most SUV's. IMHO, the auto makes the X less engaging to drive. Test drive them both and see what you think. Oh, here's something that will impress the salesman: See if you can get the X to lay a scratch going from second to third gear. It will do it.

-Old Army

PS: I don't want to hear about how hard it is to drive an MT in traffic. I commute 25 miles each way in Washington DC traffic.

·
on line
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
You guys aren't making this any easier! One of features that originally got me interested in the X was the manual tranny. I've always preferred a manual to an automatic going back to my first car...a 72 plymouth valiant with "three on the tree"!