Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, complete newb question. I replaced my air filter and cant get the air housing back on right. The two outermost little protrusions fit right in but the middle one won't go through. Not sure if there is a special way to put it back on but I didn't think it would be this stubborn. I tried searching but couldn't find anything, probably because it's so easy no ones had to ask lol...

·
Banned
1,279 Posts
I can't even remember what the stock airbox looks like but there should be pins on the downward side of the lid, get those in the holes then it will be in place. If they won't go through try rocking the lid up and down. Never seen anyone have issues with the lid before so your a special one :)
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
2,797 Posts
if you stand on the drivers side of the vehicle, you should be able to pop the two little pins in first and push and then push it down, maybe wiggle it around a bit and it should pop into place. it can be a pain sometimes to get it lined up properly, but you just gotta wiggle it a little.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys, I'll give it another shot. I've jiggled it, shook it, even punched it and it still doesn't seem to go in... I'm not the most seasoned person but I've done brakes, suspension swaps so I figured I could change out an air filter lol.. So I'm sitting here like WTF...

·
Registered
316 Posts
I had the same problem if you have thick arms its a pain, if youre flexible its a piece of cake. Take the top of the air box and line the tabs up the best that you can and then tilt the airbox (front part with the clips) up towards the hood. When you do this the 3 tabs on the back should slip in. I kept my thumb on the center one that you are having trouble with to guide/push it in.

I hope that this helps.

·
Registered
5,065 Posts