Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I am new to Xterras. I bought a new 2013 Pro-4X (manual tranny which took forever to find one) yesterday. I want to do this http://www.prgproducts.com/shop/product/4_wd_basic_coilover_package/ as my first mod. Can I do it myself in the driveway? I have the tools that would be needed and I have no issue with the rear (I'm doing the AAL instead of shackles) because i have lifted leaf spring trucks before. But I have never delt with IFS. Are there any tricks to it? Also it says the kit can do 1" to 3", I want to do 2". It appears you adjust it by turning the ring on the threaded part. Do you do this before install or after? And what keeps it from moving up or down over time and hard use?

thanks for any help

I should add that I am also going to install the shims in the rear and get the cam bolt and ublot flip kits at the same time.

·
Registered
762 Posts
If you have the tools then yes, it would be an easy driveway install. There are literally 9 bolts per side, pull out the old put in the new. You can adjust them with the spanner wrenches on the vehicle to whatever ride height you like. They do not loosen because there is a locking ring on the bottom that you tighten up to the top ring.

The biggest issue I had was some of the bolts were insanely tight. In particular, my lower coil over bolt which required a 3 foot cheater bar on my breaker bar before it would budge. Other than that, an impact gun would speed things up, and a full set of metric wrenches up to 22mm I believe would do the trick. Good luck with the install.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the info .... can you make the adjustment before install? I guess I'm trying to ask, do the instructions tell you where to set the ring to give you 2" of lift before you install it?

·
Registered
1,148 Posts