Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here with my first question :)
So I am trading in my 2002 Frontier crew cab 4x4- figured it was time. I test drove a 2015 Pro-4x 6 speed. and put a deposit down for the dealer to get one the color that I want, which I'll pick up in the next few days. The Frontier was also a stick with bilstiens. I obviously liked the test drive since I put down a deposit, but I noticed that the xterra has much more body roll in tighter turns than the Frontier. I know it has more weight up high and it's not a sports car but its still worse than I expected compared to my Frontier. Has anyone ever tried putting some weight in the back storage tray under the rear cargo area to see if it helps? Maybe a couple of 50 lb bags of sand or something? ( It looks like they would fit perfect there) I did a search on body roll but nothing specific came up.....Thanks

·
Registered
450 Posts
You can tighten up the suspension by getting rid of the Bilstiens and going with something like OME or Radflo shocks & coilovers. Also, either upgrading the leafs with an AAL or a complete replacement pack will work wonders. As for just adding dead weight in the back, I'm not sure it will really help that much.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I only do light off roading once in a while - I got the Pro-4x because I wanted 4x4, 6sp, and some of the the other options like nav that are standard in it (plus its cool :) . I guess I always thought Bilsteins made the ride firmer. I dont mind changing out the shocks but I dont want to do alot of mods just yet. I would like to just cut down a little on the body roll so I can go a little faster on turnpike ramps. So you think shocks would do it? How do the other xterras without bilsteins do in comparison to the Pro-4x as far as street handling. Thanks for your input!

·
Registered
38 Posts