Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
on line
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am hearing a klakking noise when in 4 wheel drive but especially in 4 low. It happens when you let off the clutch to accelerate and then depress the clutch to prevent further acceleration. it sounds something like a bad CV joint on a frontwheel drive...

·
on line
295 Posts
Welcome to the site. Sorry I'm not a mechanic so I could only guess that somehow the gears aren't fully engaging, unengaging? Does this happen in 4hi? I'd take it in.

·
on line
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yeah it happens in 4hi as well but it is much louder in 4 lo. it klaks like two pieces of metal are slapping together repeatedly. i have an appointment friday but i was hoping i could get a heads up from someone with similar experience

·
on line
107 Posts
noise

I am not sure, but I hope that it is not the problem I had (broken front differential).

Could be?

·
on line
666 Posts
If it is happening only when you start rolling, and when you are slowing, it would be just driveling slop, and you'll here it in most any manual tranny 4x4.
Mine does it a little, and my jeep did it quite alot. the reason it seems greater in 4lo vs 4 hi is that you are fighting a larger gear reduction...

·
on line
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
yes, i am only engaging while stopped. as for the broken diff, i hope not since it only has 5K miles on it! i have an appointment on fri and i'll let you know.

·
on line
1,884 Posts
Maybe your X doesn't like Keats. Try some Whitman or Thoreau...

·
on line
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
that's what i like about x owners... intelligence!

·
on line
2,938 Posts
calijetfxr said:
that's what i like about x owners... intelligence!
There is a reason he is called a smart ass.

·
on line
3,262 Posts
I dont want to sound stupid for posting this but.....