Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
on line
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am talking about x and s 4x4 models!

For the first time I went more tough off-roading with my X.
I would rate the trails from moderate to medium.
So far I only picked the easy trails because I was most of the times all by myself.
But this time I met a guy on the trail and so we wheeled together. He drove a 4x4 jeep liberty!
Both vehicles have very similar setups.
Both are about 3 month old and stock vehicles.
He has limited slips on his and I have ABSL on my X.
What I see on the trails is this guy just drove over everything without a problem
and I got a lot of troubles to catch up with his jeep!
What I learned is my X slips a lot and ABSL seems not to kick in at all.
I never got stuck but for all the obstacles I have to try at least twice or more.
The jeep just went over everything real easy!

But for your info I am a bloody novice in off-roading.
So I hope it is me and not my X. I can learn to handle my X.
But if it is my X then I am lost . :blackeye:

Any comments !?

·
on line
161 Posts
its not your X. SOunds like this guy may have either done this trail before or is just reasonably sound at driving off-road. Im sure if i got going off road i would probably run into things like you did. But there are those that wouldnt that drive an X as well. I think that fortunately for you (or unfortunately) it is you and not your X, so you can practice and learn and become better at it.

·
on line
1,479 Posts
agreed. Don't let that liberty make you second guess your X

·
on line
168 Posts
I don't think it is your X. I have taken my X in some good terrain, especially mud, and it performs fine.

Turn off the VDC or use 4Lo.

I only see cute young females driving Libby's.

:D

·
on line
279 Posts
I don't think it's your X. Just a little more experience off road. Depending on the trail, you might also try to air down your tires a little.

·
on line
15,651 Posts