Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
on line
3,484 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently changed my front diff oil, I had been going to dealer for a long while and just assumed (We all know what ASSUME stands for right?) that dealer checked it every oil change.

Well, It was found to be close to 50% low on fluid. I never looked at it, That is like low on the list of things I check because I used to be a New car mechanic and we checked every singe one off the truck, Obviously that did not get done to mine. No signs of leaks and I was 1st one who busted the diff fill on the front.

So, I highly suggest people be sure to take a look see. I measured the fluid coming out, and in, It is full (1.9 Pts, Almost a Qt.) when the fluid is just dripping out the fill-check plug when on a level surface.

Not a sign one of any leak anywhere. ever. So, I guess I been running on 1.2 Pt for last 30K miles, great! ASSUME again!

This would even be dumber had I not told you about it.

MC

·
on line
564 Posts
Wow! I checked my rear dif at about 3k miles...I guess I better get my lazy ars under the truck and check the trany and front dif fluid levels.

Thanks MC.

Rob

·
on line
1,792 Posts
Will check mine all around first chance I get. Thanks for the tip. I've been asking the dealer abt. the diff fluid, and they have reassured me all along, but I too have been taking their word for it.

MC, so your fluid was probably low when you blew out your diff? How much of a contributing factor might that have been?

·
on line
18 Posts
Thanks for the heads up. I have a date with the X for sure this weekend.

·
on line
15,651 Posts
d-rap said:
Will check mine all around first chance I get. Thanks for the tip. I've been asking the dealer abt. the diff fluid, and they have reassured me all along, but I too have been taking their word for it.

MC, so your fluid was probably low when you blew out your diff? How much of a contributing factor might that have been?