Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
on line
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Unlike most of you it seems, I have NO experience installing anything whatsoever on a vehicle. I can inflate tires and change the oil, and in a fix, can generally replace a flat with a spare tire. That's it.

That said, I am hoping to embark on that long, not-so-dark road of installing lights on my '06 Xterra. I'm planning 3 installs and have a few questions for starters:

1) Driving lights. I'll probably mount these on the bumper, below the grill, using a thin piece of steel for support (like someone else did). Then I'll hook them up to the high-beams--others seem to be doing this, and I guess it makes sense (when you need lots of light, you need lots of light, right?). So is it really as simple as just clamping some magical wire-attachment-thingy that comes with the Hella FF50s (or whatever I get) to the high-beams wire, then one wire to the battery and two ground wires? I do know, from reading this site, that relays--which I take it are something like a fuse or a breaker circuit--are important and should always be included (and they do seem to come with the Hellas).

2) Fog Lights. Either I'll save up the money for the OEM ones with the OEM stick (since the wiring harness pre-exists on my base X model), or I'll buy the non-OEM ones without the stick, and try to wire them using the pre-existing wires, but somehow hijack it where it goes into the steering column and redirect it to the center console? Would this be simple to do? And, lastly, how much would an accessories place or a best buy charge to do the wiring and switch part if I had all the stuff and the lights already mounted...say, if I got squeamish about all this surgery at the last minute.