Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
on line
641 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

My first post here! I had been considering an XTerra since 2004. I ended up buying something else in 2004. Now, I have the urge to trade it in and get an XTerra (hopefully this weekend).

I am considering a 2008 Off-Road model in Yellow. The question I have for you guys is: Is the 4x4 mode on all the time or can I drive in 4x2 mode for most city/highway driving and only chose the 4x4 mode when going off-roading? I searched for this but couldn't really find anything. If the mode can be changed then basically I would be driving a 4x2 model if I choose the 4x2 mode, right?

Also, I have seen mixed information regarding the ground clearance. On one website, I saw 9.6" of clearance and on Edmunds.com, I see 8.3". Which one is the correct one?

Your feedbacks would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

·
on line
2,077 Posts
the X is NOT full time all wheel drive....you'll be in 2x4 until you flip the switch to 4x4.

ground clearance is listed as 8.3-9.5" on nissan's website, i recall hearing around 9" average.

and Welcome!

·
on line
641 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
willgr1 said:
the X is NOT full time all wheel drive....you'll be in 2x4 until you flip the switch to 4x4.

ground clearance is listed as 8.3-9.5" on nissan's website, i recall hearing around 9" average.

and Welcome!
Great to hear that it's not a full-time all-wheel drive, otherwise my gas expense would sky-rocket. :D As far as the ground clearance goes, I don't understand the range. Is it not the same for all models? If no, then, what is the ground clearance for off-road model?

·
on line
704 Posts
OR model tends to be higher up. Around 9.2" I'd say. Gas mileage with manual transmission is awesome. I have been getting around 20-22mpg on highway. Good choice on the color!

·
on line
14,014 Posts