Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums banner

Power for Micro Controller

2K views 21 replies 4 participants last post by  KnightArmorX 
#1 ·
Does anyone here have experience using a micro controller to control accessories in an Xterra? If so, how did you feed clean, 5volt power to your controller?

This is not a CAN Bus project, but I do want to power the unit from the truck battery.
I am very new to electronics and struggle getting information from Arduino and Adafruit forums that are at my level. I’m not trying to learn electrical engineering. https://thenewx.org/forum/images/TheNewX_2015/smilies/tango_face_glasses.png I just need to know what component(s) to feed my battery power into to get good power to the controller. :tard:
HELP!?

#2 ·
Lots of info on this forum about powering various accessories.

I recommend doing a search for add a fuse or add a circuit. There’s a fuse box beside the glove box. You can get power there. It’s going to be 12v so you’ll need to step it down to 5v. There a lot of options for that as well. Amazon search for 12v to USB will get you started.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#3 ·
Thanks, @eighty, I did see the different converters to power accessories and charge phones. It looks like those will make the voltage conversion that I need. Will they provide clean enough power for the micro controller?

The micro controller forums keep talking about individual components and board wiring configurations. (diodes, caps transistors, parrallel, series,...) It makes my head spin. I will eventually get to the point where I can understand what they are saying, but I want to build a project, not get an EE degree.

What I am hoping to find is a "module" or breakout board to run the power through to get clean, stable power to the controller. I am leary of just doing experimentation on my vehicle, because I don't have a lot of aftermarket electronics running in it that could affect the power in my truck.

#4 ·