Considering a Broken X - IPDM Issue - Advice Needed - Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums (2005+)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 11:24 AM Thread Starter
Noobie

Considering a Broken X - IPDM Issue - Advice Needed

Hello All,

The last couple months I've been looking at 4runners and Xterras for my girlfriend and I. We need something for winters in Tahoe and her to take "off road" for her biological work.

Browsing CL I found a local 2005 SE (144k) for only $2k. The Xterra had a new transmission in '14 as well as many other new parts. It recently stopped running. The owner says the car will randomly die while driving but restarts once you turn it off and on. It sounds like its not making it very far and there are no CELs.

I'm a noob to the Xterra but pretty handy with cars. Some quick search and consulting my best friend at a Nissan dealership leads me to think this is the IPDM. The only other thing I think could cause this issue is a dead crank/cam angle sensor or fuel pump issue. Both of these would provide codes which I plan to check.

From the few hours of research it seems like I can try a new relay to see if this is the actual issue. I'd have the IPDM replaced under the recall and re-evaluate if the truck is worth putting money into.

I feel like this could be a steal since the owner is fed up and wants the truck gone. For those who have had IPDM issues, can you give me any advice on troubleshooting other than swapping relays? What other trouble areas should I look for?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 12:25 PM
Veteran
2011 Night Armor Xterra S 4x4 6MT

For an '05 you'd want to watch for noisy timing chain tensioners, make sure the radiator they used as a replacement isn't one that is still on the SMOD list, leaking axle seals, oil pressure gauge reading correctly.

Carpe lardum
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 12:32 PM
Veteran
2005 Canteen Green Xterra S