DIY: Fiberglass 12" Sub Wheel Well Box - Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums (2005+)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 12:13 AM Thread Starter
Noobie
2010 Xterra X 4x4

Garage
Post DIY: Fiberglass 12" Sub Wheel Well Box

Hey guys!

So I got tired of my huge dual 12" sub box taking up so much of my space in my trunk and i figured id take a try at making my own for a 12 inch sub (or two if the first goes well). I'll start this off by saying that I am 100% welcome to any advice anyone has, this is my first time fiber-glassing and boy it seemed difficult to me. But I got the hang of it more and now i just need to do some sanding and the front of the box. I started by building a mdf frame with some 3/4 inch thick mdf, wood glue, drywall screws, and man power. I'll add more to this write up as i get further along with it, but this and some pictures should do for now. Let me know what you all think.

Edit: Seems most of my pictures are too large to post so ill just do the one that worked for now and compress the others some other time.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0860.JPG (2.00 MB, 23 views)

Last edited by Spirit Racer; 04-20-2017 at 12:19 AM. Reason: trying to figure out how to post pics
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:38 PM
Dremel Operator
2007 Lightning Silver ❌terra Off Road 6MT

Garage
She's purrty. Can you still open the floor storage compartment?

Are you basing it on manufacturer's specs for size?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: 292
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Noobie
2010 Xterra X 4x4

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by zach_attack View Post
She's purrty. Can you still open the floor storage compartment?